A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


A maximum of 12 of the Elected Members may be elected as Aldermen at the first Annual meeting of Council following a Local Government Election. If any of the titles become vacant, they may be filled at the next Annual meeting of Council.

The honorary title does not confer any additional authority, privileges or responsibility over the remaining 48 Elected Members, beyond granting the right to be referred to by that title instead of Councillor.

The following councillors have been elected as aldermen of Belfast:

  • Alderman David Browne
  • Alderman Patrick Convery
  • Alderman Sonia Copeland
  • Alderman Tom Haire
  • Alderman Brian Kingston 
  • Alderman Frank McCoubrey
  • Alderman Christopher McGimpsey
  • Alderman Lydia Patterson
  • Alderman Ruth Patterson
  • Alderman Jim Rodgers
  • Alderman Tommy Sandford
  • Alderman Guy Spence.

Contact us
Democratic Services
028 9027 0434
Democratic Services
Belfast City Hall