A-Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

How to vote

There are 11 local councils in Northern Ireland, with councillors elected to serve the residents of each of these areas. Each council is made up of district electoral areas - Belfast has ten electoral areas, and a total of 60 councillors.

Local councils help to deliver a range of key public services, such as waste management, leisure and recreation facilities and economic development opportunities. They also represent voters on other public bodies, such as education and library boards.

What do I need to do?

Before the election, you will be issued with a poll card which explains where your nearest polling station is. If you don't receive a card, call the Electoral Office for Northern Ireland on 0800 4320 712 to find out where you should vote.

Don't forget to bring ID with you on the day - details of accepted forms of ID are available from

How do I vote?

Voting in the local council elections is easy - simply mark '1' in the box opposite the name of your first choice candidate, '2' in the box opposite your second choice, and so on. You can vote for as many candidates as you like.

This system of voting is called the Single Transferable Vote.